Arctic Refuge

$16.99 $8.00 $8.00


Arctic Refuge – Dean Evenson & Native American Artists

SP-7159CD • UPC 096507715929


Featuring: R. Carlos Nakai, David Monongye, Cha-das-ska-dum, Which-ta-lum, Cornel Pewewardy, Tsa’ne Dos’e, Jerry Alfred, Sarah James, Dean Evenson, William Eaton, Dik Darnell

About Arctic Refuge

This stunning compilation of Native American flute music, Native American songs, chants and other instrumental music features R. Carlos Nakai, Sarah James, Cha-das-ska-dum and other prominent Native American musicians. Arctic Refuge has been created to benefit the preservation of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge and the richness of life, natural resources and endangered species it supports: the caribou, polar bears, arctic foxes, grizzlies, musk ox, wolves, migratory birds, and the rich culture of the Native American people of this land. The nature sounds reflect the rich diversity of the northern coastal plain of Alaska, the biological heart of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, also known as ANWR.

Dean and Dudley Evenson first learned about threats of oil drilling to the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge a number of years ago when they met Sarah James, a remarkable Native American woman of the Gwich’in Tribe who inspired them with her activism and dedication to preserving her culture and the wilderness that her tribe depends on. She helped them see the importance of preserving this wilderness treasure from oil drilling. This issue will continue until there are clear plans in place for permanent preservation of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge Your purchase of this compilation CD will help benefit the preservation of ANWR and help the Gwich’in Steering Committee and other organizations working to preserve this pristine wilderness area. A portion of the artist royalties, producer royalties and Soundings of the Planet proceeds will benefit these worthy organizations. “If we destroy the land and resources on which we depend, and with which we live, then we are destroying ourselves. We depend on the caribou and our survival depends on their protection. We cannot tolerate any harm to the renewable resources that have sustained my people and our ancestors for many thousands of years.” – Norma Kassi, Gwich’in leader from Old Crow, Yukon


1. Cry of the Forest 3:23 (Cha-das-ska-dum, Lummi)

2. Grandfather Rain 4:52 (David Monongye , Hopi)

3. Willow People 3:35 (R. Carlos Nakai, Navajo/Ute)

4. Voices to the Sky 3:28 (Cornel Pewewardy, Commanche/Kiowa)

5. Inland Water Travel 4:37 (Tsa’ne Dos’e, Saponi/Tuscarora)

6. Towhata Lake 3:35 (Jerry Alfred, Northern Tutshone)

7. Spring Council 4:39 (R. Carlos Nakai, Navajo/Ute)

8. Prayer for the Ancient Trees 3:40 (Cha-das-ska-dum, Lummi)

9. Rainbow World 2:50 (R. Carlos Nakai, Navajo/Ute)

10. Tuez Tzeec 3:03 (Dik Darnell, Mayan)

11. Terra 2:42 (Cha-das-ska-dum, Lummi)

12. Native Tongue 1:41 (Dean Evenson)

13. Caribou Skin Hut Dance 3:38 (Sarah James, Gwich’in)

14. Taan Mun/Lake Laberge 4:25 (Jerry Alfred, Northern Tutshone)

15. Prayer Song 8:24 (Cha-das-ska-dum, Lummi) 16. Prayer 1:36 (Dean Evenson)

Total Time: 60 minutes